Oregon’s Rugged Country

Oregon’s Rugged Country includes two counties and 18 incorporated cities. Morrow County with the cities of Boardman, Heppner, Ione, Irrigon and Lexington. Umatilla County with the cities of Adams, Athena, Echo, Helix, Hermiston, Milton-Freewater, Pendleton, Pilot Rock, Stanfield, Ukiah, Umatilla and Weston.

Oregon’s Rugged Country is a rare slice of authentic America. Our residents continue traditions that hearken back to the very origins of the region, from Native American presentations to historic downtown areas teeming with farmers, ranchers and cowboys.

This land is bordered by two iconic natural features that met the Pioneers of the Oregon Trail, the beautiful Blue Mountains and the majestic Columbia River. When they arrived they were greeted by local Native American residents and many settled and began their new lives. In spite of the magnitude of the majestic river, it takes more than just the eyes to fully appreciate this region. Be prepared to use all of your senses to experience this gateway to eastern Oregon.

Listen to the rhythm of the ancient language and songs of the Umatilla, Cayuse, and Walla Walla Tribes. Watch the timeless Columbia River roll past, murmuring stories of native people, Lewis & Clark, and the Oregon Trail migration.

Oregon’s written history began here—and food for her future grows here. The line from America the beautiful “Amber waves of grain” could have been written about this region. Taste mountain huckleberries, wild mushrooms, our sweet onions and even sweeter watermelons. Enjoy some of the regions potatoes with salmon smoked in the open air or a barbecued steak hot off the grill. Don’t miss our award winning brews & wines as some of the oldest vineyards in The Walla Walla Valley are located here.

Rugged Country is a taste of the true West as it was and still is.